-30 %
Jennifer Robson

Coronation Year

Voted 0
ISBN: 9781035404216
Author : Jennifer Robson
Published: 2023
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Number of pages: 400
Language: English
Format: Paperback
Description
The author of The Gown returns with another enthralling and royal-adjacent historical novel - as the lives of three very different residents of London's historic Blue Lion hotel converge in a potentially explosive climax on the day of Queen Elizabeth's Coronation. Perfect for fans of The Crown.
.............................
London, 1953. A new Queen is about to be crowned, and at the historic Blue Lion Hotel, the lives of three residents are about to change in unexpected ways.

Edie Howard, owner of the hotel, needs a miracle to rescue it from closure. Now, it will become a sought after spot as the young Queen's carriage passes by on Coronation Day, offering Edie the chance to save her business from financial ruin.

Stella Donati, an Italian photographer and Holocaust survivor, lives at the Blue Lion. Her coveted position at Picture Weekly magazine opens a different world, giving her a purpose she thought she had lost with everything else she knew.

James Geddes, a gifted artist, has struggled to make his mark since his return from active service in the war in a world that disdains his Indian heritage. The Blue Lion affords him sanctuary and a welcome. Yet as his friendship with Edie deepens, he begins to suspect that something is badly amiss.

When anonymous threats focus on Coronation Day, Edie, Stella and James are determined to save their home, their livelihoods, and to expose those who seek to destroy them and the joyful promise of Coronation Year.
.............................
Don't miss The Gown - an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it:

'Will dazzle and delight' Independent

'Robson succeeds in creating a riveting drama of female friendship, of lives fully lived despite unbearable loss, and of the steadfast effort required to bring forth beauty after surviving war' Independent

'A great tale of female friendship' People's Friend

Reviews (0)
Write a review